It seems eBay Motors has dropped VPP on Motorcycles.
This buyer purchased the above 2007 Harley Davidson FXDB Street Bob with 6,222 Miles. It was even advertised as having LOW Miles!
The buyer went and inspected the bike and it drove well. Then paid the seller and took the title. After calling the local Illinois DMV to inquire about how to register it, the seller found out it was purchased as a repo in 2009 with 18,772 Miles!
Meanwhile the buyer has stated that eBay VPP denied the purchase protection claim because it was a motorcycle, and not listed in the Passenger Vehicle or RV and Campers Section. Since when does a Camper have an odometer? The seller is laughing at the buyer and saying SUE ME!
eBay Motors just gets Sleazier Every Month!


Click Here to guest comment on this post without registering in our forums.
And if she had purchased it out the local paper … then who’s responsible? Why is eBay responsible whatsoever? The buyer AND seller were both in IL. She could have done a DMV check. eBay can’t protect buyers from being stupid. Just sayin’.
eBay Motors gives a buyer a false sense of security when buying on the site.
That VPP Shield displayed on listing pages telling buyers that their covered by up to 50k Buyer Protection when the vehicle in question does not even qualify. That’s a SCAM within itself!
Meredith, or whoever you are. It takes TRUST and Consumer Confidence to make a secure online buying/selling site. eBay has blown that big time, while relying on that Scam VPP Program to hook buyers. VPP has more holes in it than a piece of cheese!
A FREE car listing that most likely will end up with a Dead Beat or Scamming Nigerian Buyer nets eBay $125 x however many times a newbie tries to sell the family sedan.
Try getting some Car People to run that site and it might just have a chance. Just Saying, because you asked.
Oh and.. Don’t you eBay Employees know that posting from work will tell on you? Using a Hotmail email address don’t hide the IP you are posting from..
I thought I recognized that IP Address.. LOL!
NetRange: 216.113.160.0 – 216.113.191.255
CIDR: 216.113.160.0/19
OriginAS:
NetName: EBAY-QA-IT-1
NetHandle: NET-216-113-160-0-1
Parent: NET-216-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Assignment
RegDate: 2003-05-09
Updated: 2003-10-17
Ref: http://whois.arin.net/rest/net/NET-216-113-160-0-1
OrgName: eBay, Inc
OrgId: EBAY
Address: 2145 Hamilton Ave
City: San Jose
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 95008
Country: US
RegDate: 1998-11-02
Updated: 2005-12-19
Ref: http://whois.arin.net/rest/org/EBAY
OrgTechHandle: EBAYN-ARIN
OrgTechName: eBay Network
OrgTechPhone: +1-408-376-7400
OrgTechEmail: network@ebay.com
OrgTechRef: http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/EBAYN-ARIN
I wasn’t trying to hide anything. I have nothing to hide.
Thanks for your response.
Meredith